Le Lapin
Le Lapin
First time for everything
0:00
-6:09

First time for everything

writing something like a poem from paris
Luminosity by Rachel Wolfe

for that which people deem trite or cliché

allow me to tell you this isn’t my first poem

and for those who deem freely formed verse

or spoken word absurd

then be sure to steer around Chicago’s Green Mill

permitting peaceful warriors backup band and

the reciprocal space of witness I felt 13 years ago

and may be yesterday’s excuse for

denying my truth

and so if you allow me to

I want to share in earnest with you

this morning’s thoughts on life

because I did not get handed lemons, I bought them

I drank the juice and used the flesh to do the dishes

prone, as a result of taking bad advice, I have a bit of it to give here:

take a walk under the clouds

pretend you’re in Paris

imagine the photograph at the onset of this post was made there

even though I assure you it wasn’t

remember why a blanketed sky proves more romantic than sun

that is if you want to have a view of what you love

instead of being blinded

having inadvertently torn corneas

I would not advise having to adapt

to not having what you once had

so while I reach into yesterday’s sunshine memory

of which I am not complaining

because my bones loved every minute of soaking in light

instead of shivering to generate heat

the euphoria of pedestrians moving around as Monet brushstrokes

still warned me summer waits patiently

so while spring taunts

buy cheap flowers because expensive ones die too

and you’ll have the spare change for cheese

later on the extra energy to grow a garden

if you so choose

and own the privilege of giving flowers away

so that was some of what I told my friend today

when I asked if he wanted to know how I choose friends

he didn’t care to find out really

as so often is the case

but I told him anyway:

dooers and lovers are for me

not because I love Sartre this decade and may not the next

but because I noticed the people who are busy cooperating with life

getting on with what they can do rarely dare haunt me

those who come back regretting, as if they all read the same script

retrospectively noticing a sincere foolhardy diligence to pursue the truth

and telling it to the best of my ability

saw their inverted saga for what it always was

because for worse aimed at getting better

I am what I am, and do as I say I’ll do

unless life changes course

life made sure to teach me to never fight with it

so words are not nearly hot air alone, I suggest we keep our cool

I used to keep records and notes, but I know I’m telling the truth

so I don’t have to keep track to stay on track

which is perhaps the way of grace

that’s more than ok

because grace bestowed her compassion

many times I felt undeserving and seeking

yet grace doesn’t always delight as tulips do

but wedges space into closed logic loops

so instead of going on again, instead of being bossy

I’ll tell you what I do and see how it fits for you

I donate money I don’t have to donate

yet if I have some then I have some to give

making less for me but others have some too

and we all can make more or less out of a little

resources are responsibilities

we don’t have to save the world

careful of those pretending to

demystifying life enough

made figuring out how to blend paint colours readied

to create routes with greater clarity in their course

an orientation less shy of the most desired direction

I thought could be easy enough

until I met those who love to make shade

to ensure that which could grow, would rot

so their roots and vision could proclaim

popularity as best instead of letting all the rest

feed their roots too

as life cycles through seasons of rebirth and growth

in digesting the consequences of creating

now with more caution

to not bite into lies people believe about themselves

the lies perpetuating hell

and that’s the tell

who I make friends with or not

those who are doing the work and not tipping the boat

content with keeping their hands to themselves

or having and extra set to hold be more than enough

not feigning but overflowing

contented trust maintaining and going, growing

not punching holes in hulls while I’m busy bailing out water

such futility knows only its own sorrows

now this part I do not advise

yet having jumped from those types of ships

though worn out I became a good swimmer

for having been so afraid of water

there were docks that became doors

opening to even a stranger such as me

exploring where open doors lead has been terrifying

yet not in the least I continue imagining a we-

as some say the other is a part of ourselves already

creating an orbit generating a home, which for me requires a specificity

I do make demands and not leave my day up to fate or prophets

for oh whatever god is

what else can earth be here for

but learning how to create more life

from the bounty of what is given to grow.

Le Lapin is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

May the sun’s touch your heart with tenderness when the blossoms open up for you.

0 Comments
Le Lapin
Le Lapin
A reserve for understanding.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mari Amman